A Review of “Relational Theology: A Contemporary Introduction”

Posted: 2013/01/29 in Uncategorized

Thomas Jay Oord co-wrote a book several years ago called Relational Holiness.  That book helped form my worldview.  I like so many others in my under-30 generation resonate with a relational worldview.  Relational Theology is the future of the Church.  So, I was very excited to hear he was involved with Brint Montgomery and Karen Winslow in compiling a new collection of essays outlining Relational Theology.

Relational Theology: A Contemporary Introduction provides a holistic, well-balanced introduction to Relational Theology.  As I read, I picked up on the many different types of authors.  I recognized some of the names while others were fresh, new voices.  When I first judged this book by its cover, I had prepared myself for heady, scholarly essays using complicated terminology.  I was pleasantly surprised to find the language was accessible and the concepts were clearly laid out in manageable chunks.  Complicated theological thought was made accessible to anyone lucky enough to bend the spine on this compilation.

I’m a bi-vocational pastor.  I don’t have ample amounts of study time.  I have to scrimp and scrape time together to read and build up my mind.  The beauty of Relational Theology is the small essays collected by theme.  You can read an essay while on a break or waiting in line, easily put the book down and pick it up again when you have a little more time.

Please accept my strong recommendation:  If your eyes are reading this, they also need to find their way to the pages of Relational Theology: A Contemporary Introduction.  The men and women who’s words are contained within those pages provide clear and concise insight into the relational movement.  The short chapters and accessible language make this the perfect book for long-time Christians looking to understand a new Christian movement.  It is also the perfect way from someone who is exploring to gain an understanding of the cutting edge of Christian theology.  Either way, make sure you make time for this wonderful collection of essays.

Comments
  1. Thanks for this kind review!

    Tom

Leave a comment